By Dale Gribow
Labor Day is around the corner. It is a holiday when our neighbors do not always use good common sense while celebrating the holiday weekend. We all attend BBQ’S and parties where we eat and drink with impunity. We do not plan ahead and think of how much we have had to drink and instinctively get behind the wheel and drive.
Drivers honestly believe the beers or margaritas they consumed did not affect them until they get stopped or get in an accident….and then need my help for both. So drive extra carefully during this weekend.
I use to open my LEGAL Radio Show with “People don’t plan to fail, they fail to plan”. So plan ahead today and decide on a designated driver. As an alternative you can use the services of a limo or driver for hire services if you are not going to take a taxi or Uber.
When there is an accident with a DUI the police and DA take months to investigate the case BEFORE filing a DUI charge. Unfortunately the DA does not always send the driver a notice that the case has been filed. Thus many people assume there was no filing and they have a VALID CDL.
If you are involved in an accident use your cell phone to take picture of the cars and parties. You can use your phone to record the names, address, emails and phone number of all parties and wits….as well as recording their admissions. IF you are injured you should go to the hospital or ER. Prepare a summary of your injuries starting with the top of your head going down to the bottom of your toes and list what is hurting you then call a lawyer.
If one gets cited/arrested for a DUI their license is taken from them and a pink temporary license for 30 days is given to you. It explains that their license is valid for 30 days and then suspended for 4-5 months. The driver must contact DMV and request a hearing with San Bernardino or Palm Spring DMV and also request a STAY …within 10 days.
Without the STAY, after 30 days you are driving on a suspended license and if stopped for anything you could be arrested and face up to 10 days in jail. In California they do not have to send the arrestee Notice of the Suspension of their driver’s license.
After an adverse DMV FINDING from a DUI Hearing OR after a 1st time COURT CONVICTION the DMV in Sacramento will suspend your California Driver’s License for 4-5 months. However after 30 days of suspension, you can get a restricted license to drive to and from work and classes. Contact me for the ABC’s of a DUI which tells you what to do. I would be happy to send it to you.
If you are Arrested DO NOT TALK TO ANYONE OTHER THAN YOUR LAWYER as Law enforcement officers and prosecutors are not your friends, no matter how much they tell you they are. Remember they are just trying to make a case to support the arrest.
DO YOURSELF A BIG FAVOR: SHUT UP & CALL A LAWYER! Remember Silence is Golden and Handcuffs are Silver!!!
TOP LAWYER – Palm Springs Life DUI 2011-2017
AVVO Perfect 10.0 Peer Rating
“Preeminent” Rating by Martindale Hubbell Legal Directory
“Best Attorneys of America” Rue, (Limited to Top 100 Attorneys/State)
Client Appreciation (DUI) Award/ Martindale Hubbell Client DUI Distinction Award- 2015