The CV Music Awards held Thursday, May 31 at Big Rock Pub and Sunday, June 3 at Hotel Zoso were both a big success! Below are the winners in the 41 categories. We would like to thank our Sponsors: Julie Montante owner of PSA Organica, Meachele Campbell owner of PS ComicXpo, Ken Hanna owner of Big Rock Pub, Vincent Battaglia owner of Renova Energy, Jerry Keller owner of LULU and Acqua Bistro, La Quinta Brewery, Joe Funkey owner of Giuseppe’s, Daren & Martina Webster owners of DarMar Trophies. Big thank you to Brandon Henderson our Stage and Production Manager for making things run so smoothly. Thank you to Robert Chance, CV Weekly’s Art Director for putting together the Special Awards presentations and the In Memory piece. Thank you to our emcees this year for doing a great job hosting: Haley Clawson, Craig Michaels, Morgan James and TK from 93.7 KCLB. Thank you to our photographer Laura Hunt Little, videographer Zak Kupcha, PFL Audio, Kevin Swank/CYM Lighting, Liz Westley and Jason Hall for running check in, Gregory Little, Trio NV for performing in the lobby before the show started, DJ Guy Worden, Long Duk Dong and Sleazy Cortez for performing at the after party, to all the bands that gave amazing performances at both events. Thank you to Hotel Zoso for hosting the Main Awards show and after party especially Adam Levy and Clayton Hersom for making sure that the event went off without any problems and for taking such good care of us. Congrats to all the winners! Cheers!

Best Band – Desert Rhythm Project

Best Rock Band – Black Water Gospel

Best Metal Band – Tie – HOBP and In The Name of the Dead


Best Punk Band – Throw the Goat

Best Alternative Band – Black Water Gospel

Best Rap/hip Hop – Willdabeast

Best Reggae – Desert Rhythm Project

Best Duo – Mikey Reyes and Bryanna Evaro

Best New Band – Mega Sun

Best Live Performance Band – Giselle Woo and the Night Owls

Best Youth Band – FrankEatsTheFloor

Best Female Vocalist – Chelsea Sugarbritches

Best Frontman – Sean Wheeler

Best Guitar – Razor J

Best Bass – Bryanna Evaro

Best Drummer – Tyler Ontiveros

Best Club DJ – DJ Guy Warden

Best Event DJ – Desert DJ Entertainment

Best Event Promoter – Jimi Fitz

Best Producer – Will Sturgeon

Best Live Performance Venue – Pappy and Harriet’s

Best Large Music Venue – The McCallum

Best Live Music Event – Annual Concert for Autism

Best Album – Black Water Gospel – Self titled

Best Sing – The Flusters – “Everyday Dreaming”

Best Adult Contemporary – Smooth Brothers

Best Individual Instrumental Performance – Alex Sanatana

Best Instrumental Band – The Woody’s

Best Club Promoter – Mr. Miami

Best Large Live Music Event – Coachella

Best Sound Engineer – Jeff Mazur

Best Blues – Kal David and Lauri Bono

Best Keyboards – Andy Cahan

Best Jazz Instrumental – Alex Santana

Best Jazz Vocals – Slim Man

Best Band Photographer – Steven Young

Best Frontwoman – Jesika Von Rabbit

Best Cover Band – Shaken Not Stirred

Best R&B – Kate London

Best Male Vocalist – Michael Keeth

Best Country Band – Lisa and the Gents